After reading one of my cousin’s recent blog posts, I started thinking again about something that’s been on my mind for awhile.  Without trying to sound conceited or patronizing, I am wondering how one remains faithful and loves God more when things are “going well.”

In all honesty, I found it easier to reach out for God in the difficult circumstances I went through several years ago. At that point, all I could do was reach out and just hang on.  For the past 6 years or so, my life has been really good…perhaps even easy.  Sure, I’ve had challenges (starting a career, having a baby, navigating life changes, etc), but there have been no tragedies.  No death, no divorce, no major health issues, no lack of security…   I live in America; I live in abundance.  Perhaps the biggest challenge I face on a daily basis is simply my faithfulness to God instead of living for myself or any of the other idols we worship in our culture.

Several years ago I came across this verse, and it imprinted deeply in me:

Psalm 37:3 “Trust in the LORD and do good; dwell in the land and [a]cultivate faithfulness.”

I can’t say that I’ve always been faithful.  In fact, I’ve been far from it quite a bit.  But God has always been faithful.  And I know He wants me to walk in that, to practice that.  Sometimes I think it might look like mopping my floors or planning a meal.  Sometimes it means forgiving someone even if they aren’t sorry, or giving my son loving attention when I am tired of him and would rather do something else.

Truthfully, I’m not completely sure I know how to love God more, but perhaps faithfulness in the little things is a start.  I may not be moving fast, but I suppose even baby steps will take me somewhere.

