Let me be trivial for a moment.  Here is something I do not get: why can’t I get good advice from my husband when it comes to clothes?

The shirt in question

Last weekend I went shopping at Old Navy.  I had no intention of buying anything for myself, but in my experience, I usually find something I like when I’m not really looking for it.  Anyhow, as I was meandering around, I saw this shirt and thought to myself, this might be a good shirt on me: that particular cut of the sleeves works well for me, it’s modest, it’s a good fabric for summer, the ruffle makes it a bit more dressy and I like that, and I’m not sure, but think the color is nice with my skin.  So i quickly tried it on and looked in the mirror.  Not bad, but here’s the real test-what does the husband think?  Thinking he might like it (and hopefully give me a compliment), I showed him.  “What do you think, honey?” And do you know what came out of his mouth?

Something along the lines of  EWWWUUUGGHHH!!!  (Not to mention the disgusted look on his face.)

I mean, come on, is it that bad?!  So with my head hung, I stuck the shirt back on the rack.  What woman would buy a shirt when her husband gave her about the worst reaction she could get?  Still feeling flabbergasted about his lack of agreement to my opinion, I dared to ask him a question, “Did you not like that shirt because of the color of the shirt, or how it looked on me?”  His response: The color-it’s UGLY!

GRAAAAAAAAHHHH!!!

I should be laughing at this point, but it’s the usual frustration/confusion/again reminding myself that I never need to go shopping with my husband and stop dragging him along.

All I wanted to know was if it looked good on me, not whether or not he liked the color.  To be fair, I asked him what he thought, but really all I ever want to know when I ask him about clothes is if it makes me look better.  Does the fit accentuate the right parts?  Does it diminish the less attractive ones?  Does it look somewhat dressy and nice?  Does the color bring out my eyes, or make my cheeks look rosy, or go well with my skin tone?  Am I pretty in it?  Shouldn’t he know this???

I really could care less about his opinion of the article of clothing by itself.  I mean, I’ve seen lots of pretty girls make something ugly look good.  They wear it because they feel good in it.  If I feel good in a piece of clothing, I’ll wear it, no matter if someone else thinks it’s an ugly shirt.  Well, okay, maybe I do care a bit about what my husband thinks.

I did consider buying it in navy, which I know looks nice on me, but after the last 10 minutes, there was no way I’d ever feel very pretty in that shirt.  Alas.  (I suppose it’s all for the best, as it was like $20 or $30, and I feel this is way too much to pay for a shirt from Old Navy.)

The moral of the story?  I’m not sure.  It could be: Never drag your husband out shopping, Don’t ask for his opinion first, Stop worrying about what other people think, or even, Be more decisive?

As it happens, this is just another example of the differences between men and women.  Next time, I’ll ask a girlfriend.  She’ll know what I mean.

