So in my quiet time today I came across this verse:

“He turned their heart to hate His people, to deal craftily with His servants.” (vs. 25)

The Psalmist is basically describing God’s faithfulness to Israel after they were in Egypt and became enslaved to them.  By the end of the psalm, the psalmist writes how Isreal was delivered and that God gave them all these many blessings “so that they might keep His statutes and observe His laws”.

What struck me was how clear and simple this truth was portrayed-that God has the power over us to change our hearts.  In this case, it was the Egyptians heart being hardened and given to evil.  It was also not the choice of the Egyptians, but God’s will that prevailed.  How big He is!  I cannot comprehend it, but I pray that He will soften my heart to follow after Him.  God controls all of me-the breath to live and my heart to seek (or not) seek Him.  I believe He is good, or that would be a very scary thought.  As it is, I am comforted to know that a good God has everything in His control.

