Last year around this time, Matt and I signed up to be a “host family” for an international student studying at the University of Texas.  I heard that there are thousands of students who come to America to study and learn about American culture, but most of the time many of them never even get to step foot into an American home!  This disappointed me and made me feel ashamed of my country.  So, I signed up to be a “host”.  IMG_4724

Initally, we were paired with a Turkish couple, Mahsuni and Seher.  Mahsuni is studying Engineering at UT, while Seher came along as his wife to be with him and learn English.   Throughout the past year, Mahsuni and Seher have shared their culture with us as we have shared ours with them.  While I hope that they gained from meeting with us, I feel as if I’m the lucky person, having the chance to get to know someone from another culture which is very different from my own.

Did you know that many of the international students who come to study at Texas are some of the smartest, most dedicated, or influential people in their country?  How do you think they get the opportunity to study at such great American schools?  And yet, there are hundreds of students who sign up to have a “host” family but don’t get one because there aren’t enough Americans to be hospitable to them.

It’s September, the start of the school year, and I signed up to “host” another international student.  Of course we still meet with Mahsuni and Seher-they are our friends.  But there is a need and a chance for me to learn and grow, so I took it.   Would you consider this as well?

You can find more information here, or by simply asking me!

